Lea Meister Elected Member of ESU’s Executive Committee

Press release of VSS-UNES-USU, 03.05.2014

Yesterday night, the Board of the European Students’ Union ESU elected VSS-UNES-USU’s EC member Lea Meister to its own EC. The Swiss Students’ Union full-heartedly congratulates Lea. We are sure that ESU will profit from her vast and unique experience.

Since last autumn, Lea is a member of VSS’ executive committee and our international officer. Before that, she was the co-president of our Committee on International Affairs and Solidarity. She represented VSS-UNES-USU in ESU’s board since 2010 and was a member of the Swiss rectors’ associations’ bologna expert group. Previously, she was co-president of our Basel member union skuba and her programme’s students’ council.

VSS-UNES-USU loses an incredibly motivated and capable EC member. At the same time, we are delighted that Lea will now represent the students of all of Europe.

VSS-UNES-USU congratulates all new and returning Executive members. Elisabeth Gehrke (Sweden) was elected Chairperson of ESU. Erin Nordal (Norway) and Fernando Miguel Galán Palomares (Spain) will support her as Vice-Chairs. The other elected Executive Committee members are Blazhe Todorovski  (Macedonia), Maksim Milito (Lithuania), Cat O’Driscoll (Ireland), Karolina Pietkiewicz (Poland), Tiago Estêvão (Portugal), Tijana Isoski (Serbia), and Lea Meister from Switzerland.  We are sure that they will continue their great work and lead ESU into the future. The new EC will begin its work on July 1st.

ESU is the umbrella organization of 47 students’ unions in 39 countries. ESU represents students towards the European Union, the Council of Europe, Unesco and in the Bologna process. Through its members ESU represents 11 Million students. In some projects and thematic priorities ESU works, for example, on the students’ view on quality assurance and the development of new teaching methods in higher education.